Continental Connections: Austria and Hungary

St. Luke's Chamber Ensemble
Orchestra of St. Luke’s has co-commissioned a new work by Hungarian conductor and composer Iván Fischer, which will be performed along with Fischer’s Shudh Sarang Sextet for tabla and strings, a work inspired by his trip to India. Works by Kodály and Bartók champion the folk music of their native Hungary, while the brilliance of Austrian musical geniuses Mozart and Haydn shine in a divertimento and string quartet.

Mozart, Divertimento in F Major K. 138
Kodály, Serenade for two violins and viola, Op. 12
Iván Fischer, Präludium und Fuge (U.S. Premiere)*
Iván Fischer, Shudh Sarang Sextet (U.S. Premiere)
Bartók, Valse for string quartet
Haydn, String Quartet in C Major, Op. 54, No. 2, Hob III:57

*Co-commissioned by Orchestra of St. Luke's and Friends Association of the Concertgebouw and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

These concerts coincide with COMPOSERS NOW, a festival that celebrates the diversity and presence of living composers in our society. For more information and a detailed schedule of events and partnering institutions, visit

Wednesday, February 24, 2016, 7:30 pm
Series tickets: 
$130; $106 for Members
$48; $38 for members

Tickets to these concerts may be ordered only by calling the Orchestra of St. Luke’s at 212.594.6100 or visiting

St. Luke’s Chamber Ensemble. Photography by Matt Dine.

Please call (212) 685-0008 ext. 560 or e-mail for information.