Search collection catalog »
E-NEWS Facebook logo Twitter logo Google logo YouTube
The Morgan Library and Museum
Daily calendar

Monthly calendar





Public programs home


Public Programs

Oscar and Lucinda.

Fiction on Film
To coincide with the exhibition Bookermania: 45 Years of the Man Booker Prize, the Morgan presents two screen adaptations of Man Booker Prize-affiliated novels.

Oscar and Lucinda
(1997, 132 minutes)
Director: Gillian Armstrong
An unlikely pair of gamblers meet on a voyage from England to Australia. Lucinda Leplastrier, a young heiress, bets Oscar Hopkins, an Anglican priest, that he cannot transport a glass church from Sydney to an Outback settlement. This wager changes their lives forever. Based on Australian author Peter Carey's 1988 prize-winning novel, starring Cate Blanchett and Ralph Fiennes.
Friday, September 27, 2013, 7 p.m.

Exhibition-related films are free with museum admission. Advance reservations for Morgan Members only: 212.685.0008, ext. 560, or Tickets are available at the Admission Desk on the day of the screening.

Please call (212) 685-0008 ext. 560 or e-mail for information.

Top of page

© The Morgan Library & Museum, 225 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, (212) 685-0008

Home Museum »
Visit the Museum
Public Programs
Collection »
Collection highlights
Online Exhibitions
Music Manuscripts Online
The Drawing Institute
CORSAIR Collection Catalog
Research »
CORSAIR Collection Catalog
Research Services
Reading Room
Research Guides
The Drawing Institute
Photography & Rights
About »
History of the Morgan
The Morgan Campus
Support »
Make a Donation
Corporate Membership
Corporate Entertaining
Shop Contact

E-News | Site Index | Terms and Conditions

The programs of The Morgan Library & Museum are made possible with public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, and by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

Background images: Photography by Todd Eberle unless otherwise noted. © 2006 Todd Eberle.