Search collection catalog »
E-NEWS Facebook logo Twitter logo Google logo YouTube

Drawings & Prints

Medieval & Renaissance Manuscripts

Printed Books & Bindings

Literary & Historical Manuscripts

Music Manuscripts & Printed Music

Ancient Near Eastern Seals & Tablets


Paintings & Art Objects


Collections | Music Manuscripts & Printed Music

Views: List | Single work | Overview Zoom+
Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Sketch for the second movement of the Symphony no. 7, op. 92
Autograph manuscript, 1812
James Fuld Collection

See the whole manuscript »
See more information »

This sketch comes from the lower part of a leaf from the Petter Sketchbook, named after Gustav A. Petter (1828–1868), one of its former owners. It contains musical ideas for the second movement of the Seventh Symphony—the opening chord and the reiterated bass figure. Undoubtedly the popularity of this movement made it desirable to admirers and collectors and led to the dismemberment of the sketchbook and dispersal of several of its leaves.

List of works
Text only list
Search images

Order images
Top of page

© The Morgan Library & Museum, 225 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, (212) 685-0008

Home Museum »
Visit the Museum
Public Programs
Collection »
Collection highlights
Online Exhibitions
Music Manuscripts Online
The Drawing Institute
CORSAIR Collection Catalog
Research »
CORSAIR Collection Catalog
Research Services
Reading Room
Research Guides
The Drawing Institute
Photography & Rights
About »
History of the Morgan
The Morgan Campus
Support »
Make a Donation
Corporate Membership
Corporate Entertaining
Shop Contact

E-News | Site Index | Terms and Conditions

The programs of The Morgan Library & Museum are made possible with public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, and by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

Background images: Photography by Todd Eberle unless otherwise noted. © 2006 Todd Eberle.